How many NCAA teams have won men’s and women’s basketball championships? As interesting as the teams that are on the list, are the teams that are not. On the men’s side, the Duke powerhouse has won three men’s championships (1991, 1992, 2001), but their female counterparts have lost their two NCAA championships (1999, 2006).

Meanwhile, while Tennessee women’s basketball teams have won eight NCAA championships (1987, 1989, 1991, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2007, 2008), their men’s counterparts have never made it to the NCAA tournament championship. . So which schools have won championships in the men’s and women’s tournaments? Here’s the full (and short) list:

1. Connecticut Huskies

The Lady Tennessee Volunteers and Lady Connecticut Huskies have won 13 of the 27 NCAA women’s basketball tournaments. UConn has won five championships, ironically beating all eight Tennessee champions four of those times (1995 defeated Tennessee, 2000 defeated Tennessee, 2002 defeated Oklahoma, 2003 defeated Tennessee, 2004 defeated Tennessee). Also, the Lady Huskies have never lost an NCAA championship game.

Although less successful than their female counterparts, male Huskies have also won multiple NCAA championships. During the 1999 tournament, the Huskies outscored the Duke Blue Devils, by a score of 77-74. Then, in 2004, UConn defeated Georgia Tech in the championship game, with a more resounding victory: 82-73. The men’s team has never lost an NCAA championship game, either.

2. Maryland tortoises

In their second consecutive trip to the NCAA Final Four, the Maryland Terrapins men’s basketball team won their first NCAA tournament. The game was a defensive battle against the Indiana Hoosiers, who had already won five national titles. Although Indiana played tough against Maryland, Terrapin players like Juan Dixon and Lonny Baxter responded with solid plays of their own.

Famous for their overtime heroics, the Lady Maryland Terrapins needed another overtime to win their first NCAA championship, in the 2006 tournament. Down 13 points against the Duke Blue Devils, they bounced back and won in overtime, 78 -75. Surprisingly, the team was 6-0 in overtime games during the season. That included five road games and the NCAA championship.

3. North Carolina Tar Heels

The North Carolina men’s basketball team has appeared in the NCAA championship eight times and has won four NCAA championships (1957 defeated Kansas, 1982 at Georgetown, 1993 at Michigan, 2005 at Illinois). Famous Tar Heels players include:

or Vince Carter

or Billy Cunningham

or Tyler Hansborough

or Brendan Haywood

or Bobby Jones

or Michael Jordan

or Rasheed Wallace

or worthy james

The Lady North Carolina Tar Heels beat Louisiana Tech in the 1994 NCAA tournament, by the smallest of margins: 60-59. The teams played the championship in Richmond Virginia, at the Richmond Coliseum. Sylvia Hatchell was the coach of the winning Tar Heels. Meanwhile, Tonya Sampson and Charlotte Smith were the All-Tournament players who were key players for North Carolina.

While several NCAA colleges and universities have won a Division I men’s or women’s basketball championship, only three have one for both. Use NCAA merchandise to cheer on your team and become the “Final One” of the tournament!

Leave a Comment on 3 Amazing NCAA Schools With Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *